Stormwater Management Authority – Category C funding round applications: Capital works relating to stormwater management projects.

The Stormwater Management Authority (SMA) is now calling for applications for funding for Category C projects (capital works relating to stormwater management) under the Stormwater Management Fund. Up to 50% of costs will be considered.

Eligible projects may include:

  • Detailed design of civil works
  • Construction of civil works
  • Land acquisition

Projects should be consistent with approved Stormwater Management Plans. Projects not consistent with an approved stormwater management plan will only be considered if there are demonstrated exceptional circumstances.

For further information please see:

Stormwater Management Fund Guide for Applicants

Application Form

Applicants are strongly encouraged to discuss proposals with SMA staff prior to developing an application for funding. To contact the SMA: email or phone 8124 4740

Applications close 5:00 pm, 22 March 2024

The SMA hosted an online information session on 12 December 2023 to provide SA local government with information. To view the information session, please click this link:

In South Australia, stormwater management is a responsibility that is shared between the state government, local government and private landowners. Reflecting this shared responsibility, the South Australian Government and the Local Government Association (LGA) of South Australia have partnered in the formation of the Stormwater Management Authority (SMA).

The SMA was established on 1 July 2007 and operates under the Local Government (Stormwater Management Agreement) Amendment Act 2016. The SMA comprises a nine member board appointed by the Minister for Environment and Water.

The SMA acts as a stormwater planning and prioritisation body for South Australia. The SMA promotes the development of integrated Stormwater Management Plans (SMPs) by local government, and administers the Stormwater Management Fund to assist local government with the costs of stormwater management planning and stormwater infrastructure.

The SMA works closely with the LGA, the Department for Environment and Water, and landscape boards.

Our plans and priorities can be viewed here.